Dickman, Marist boys enjoy big track week

Spread the love

By Jeff Vorva


The postseason track was hot and heavy in the Southwest Regional News area as girls completed state competition and the boys were battling it out at sectionals and sending an army of competitors this week’s state meet.

A breakdown:


State Meet

In Class 3A, Lyons’ Katie Dickman finished in third place in the 1600-meter run, with a time of 4 minutes, 42.55 seconds, which would have been a state record.

But Normal Community freshman Ali Ince broke the record with a 4:40.85 and Oak Park’s Josephine Welin was runner-up with a 4:42.55.

The previous record was held by Woodstock’s Kayla Beattie, who ran a 4:43.65 in 2011.

The race was held at 9:30 p.m. Saturday at Eastern Illinois University after two long weather delays pushed the event back.

Dickman, Rebecca Phillips, Lillie George, and Abby Deuter finished eighth in the 1600 relay with a 4:02.77.

Stagg’s Shannon Lawler finished sixth in the 100 hurdles with a time of:14.99 and added a 10th-place showing in the 300 hurdles with a :46.62.

Shepard’s Kayden Porter took 10th in the shot put with a throw of 37 feet, 9.25 inches.

DICKMAN scaled

Lyons Township’s Katie Dickman, shown after a sectional race, was one of three runners at state Saturday to surpass a 2011 record time in the 1600. Photo by Jeff Vorva


Class 3A Sectionals

At Morton

Marist won its first postseason title since winning a Class AA district championship in 1982 when it won the Morton Sectional with 125 points on Thursday. St. Laurence (94 points) and Brother Rice (83) rounded out the top three.

Marist’s Jake Phillips won the 3200 with a 9:55.82 while Joshua Harris won the shot put with as 44-11.25 and the discus with a 137-3.25.

Brother Rice’s Nehemiah Ray was a triple winner as he won the 100 with an :11.12, the 200 with a :22.34 and the 400 with a :51.02. Teammate Mickey Corcoran won the 800 with a 2:00.93. Marcus Kennedy won the high jump with a 6-4.

Riverside Brookfield’s Paul Proteau won the 1600 title with a 4:34.24 with freshman teammate Cooper Marrs right next to him with a 4:34.74.

The Bulldogs’ 1600 relay team of James Dalton, Proteau, Marrs and Miles Rubio won in 3:35.45 and the 3200 relay team of Marrs, Proteau, Dalton and Jack O’Brien won in 8:13.49.

Shepard’s Karam Jaber won the 110 hurdles in :15.51 and the 300 hurdles with a :42.80. The Astros’ 400 relay team of Maurice Woody, Jalen Smith, Isiah Wiggins and Kendrick Washington won in :45.59.

St. Laurence’s 800 relay team of Matt Ochoa, Dell rio Johnson, DeShawn Parker and Adrian Williams won in 1:31.11. Aaron Wofford won the triple jump with a 45-6.5.

Morton’s Victor Rodriguez won the pole vault with 14-9.25.

Oak Lawn’s Robert Wagner won the long jump with a 22-3.75.

At Naperville North

As expected, Sandburg had great success in distance running as junior Declan Tunney won the 3200 in 9:23.95 while the 3200 relay team of Ismail Tineh, Grant Giblin, Trent Anderson and Brock Rice earned a title with a 7:51.92.

The Sandburg 3200 relay team has medaled in eight straight state meets including posting a state-record 7:36.36 in 2016.

Class 2A

At St. Rita

Evergreen Park won the third sectional in school history and the first since 2015 scoring 120 points while Mount Carmel was runner-up with 93.

Evergreen Park’s Jalen Jones won the 100 with an :11.09 and the triple jump with a 42-6.25. The 1600 relay team of John Bledsoe, Rocco Cipolla, Jack Donnelly and Dan Farritor won with a 9:36.73. Isiah Mosley won the discus with a 116-2.5.

Mount Carmel’s Jaden Bossie won the 110 hurdles with a :15.18. Teammate Myles Smith won the 300 hurdles with a :42.63.

The 400 relay team of Derick Whaley, Tucker Miller, Bossie and Enzo DeRosa won with :44.08. The 1600 team of Whaley, Hugo Rincon, Darrion Dupree and Grant Mason won with a 3:35.61. Mason won the high jump with a 5-7.75

St. Rita’s EJ Nwagwu won the 200 with a :22.32.

At De La Salle

The hosts’ 400 relay team of Jaden Blake, Ray Coffee, Dom Richko and Mustapha St. Clair won with a :44.87 and the 800 relay team of Blake, Coffee, Jason Moore and St. Clair won with a 1:32.91. Blake won the pole vault with a 13-10.5.


At Seneca

Chicago Christian’s Gave Kuecker won the 1600 with a 4:48.66 and the 3200 with a 10:37.25. Luke Jelderks won the long jump with a 21-5.





DVN JCs Restoration House Ad
CRR NH Harmony Restaurant House Ad
Regional Capri Pizza House Ad

Featured Games